One of the smaller squares, Troup Square was laid out in 1851, and named for George Michael Troup, congressman, senator and Governor of Georgia from 1823-1827. Only Troup and Washington squares were named for men still alive at the time they were laid out. This square features a charming bronze 1870s era Victorian armillary mounted on six bronze turtles. For those unfamiliar with the term, an armillary is an astronomical model used to display relationships between celestial circles. Troop square is commonly referred to as “Dog Bone Square” because of the unique cast iron pet water fountain.
The Unitarian Universalist Church built in 1851 sits on the west side of Troup Square at 321 Habersham. Reverend John Pierpont Jr. was the minister of the church, and his brother James was the organist and choir director. Legend says that James Pierpont wrote the song we know as “Jingle Bells” during the time that he served at this church. The Unitarian church was forced to close prior to the Civil War because of their abolitionist beliefs. However, the Unitarians reclaimed the church in 1997.
Development around the square was interrupted by the Civil War. As a result many of the rowhouses in the area were built after 1870.
John McDonough built the handsome row of stucco houses at 410-424 East Charlton Street in the Italianate style. Notice the segmental arches and fanciful bay windows.
The paired sidehall homes at 313-315 East Charlton, built in 1852, feature tall dormers and steep gable ends.
The brick row at 405-411 East Charlton, known as Cohen Row, was built in 1882 in the Italianate style, and features raised basements and lowered, segmental arched openings throughout.
From Troup Square back to Savannah Squares